The Difference Is The Same

Bismihi Ta’ala

Once upon a time, I used to think of myself as an ‘old soul’.  It was a nice, pretty turn of phrase and made me feel important.  I’d watch the world around me from a distance with a sage-like perception of myself.  I felt that I was not like others, that I was…different.  And perhaps I was.  I wasn’t interested in the same games that others children were, and if I did play them, it seemed that I took something else from the experience than they did.

I do remember being briefly amused by climbing trees and making imaginary castles and computer rooms on the different branches.  I remember being enamoured – again briefly – by video games (I won’t say which for fear of disclosing how old I really am, because there’s a difference between being an old soul and being old. period.) but again, I played them at the homes of cousins or friends, and once the play fell into a familiar pattern, I quickly lost interest in the repetitive nature of the game.  Once I could understand or even spot a conscious pattern behind something, then the activity became uninteresting for me.

The only thing that never bored me were books.  I imbibed them – some good, some bad, some that should never have seen the light of day.  It was only in books that I could remain involved, because I never ‘got’ them.  Yes, there was a classic pattern in them, but every story was different. every character new, every combination of words fresh.  Books were a haven for my imagination because I could read the same story but imagine a different visual for the same descriptions, making the story brand new every time.

But I digress, this post is not about books or my love of them.  This post is about patterns and how they’re all the same, but they can all be so different as well.  The more complex a pattern, the more it amazes me, the more I need to simply sit back and think about it.  I can’t get my head over the fact, for example, that in its basic description the structure of an atom imitates that of the galaxy.  How does one blueprint contract and expand so perfectly to accommodate the needs of a single element as well as that of the universe?

I still sit back in awe and wonder that one plus one is equal to two.  It just adds up so …perfectly. Take one and add another to it, and you’ll always have two! Voila! Sometimes, when I knit or crochet, I wonder at how just one series of moves, repeated over and over, can give such a variety of results.

People amaze me as well – 7 billion of us – each one unique and different and yet psychologists and sociologists give us a science to understanding our behavioural patterns.  We can almost predict exactly how any one of us would react in a situation and how to handle it…if we could only understand ourselves as they do.  We have so much information about ourselves, we should be immune to being influenced by any external sources but we still fall prey to every new marketing campaign that comes our way!

There’s so many random thoughts going through my head right now,  I don’t quite know what the point of this post is, so you will forgive me for ending it as abruptly as I started it.  Maybe next post, I’ll have got my coherency back.  Or maybe not! 🙂

S’laams,

bA

Tell me what *you* think!

