Catching up. Just

Three weeks of college done. Time is passing too fast. Slipping away. Which is kind of at odds with how quickly – or rather slowly – it actually is passing on a moment-to-moment basis.

There seems to be a mountain of potential work that I could do if I choose to. Or I could just manage to ‘survive’ as usual. And with Ramadan coming up next week, I’m leaning towards the latter. I really don’t want to sacrifice the month for the work. If I did, it would be the final decision on how much I have and am willing to compromise. I guess this could be The Choice, so to speak.

As usual, I’m meeting new people – or rather the same people, but seeing new sides to them – on an almost daily basis. I’ve had the same circle of friends for so long that I can almost predict how they’ll react to anything I say. But now it’s a case of having re-define individuals as I get to know them better. It’s an interesting social aspect that I’d never really had a chance to explore before.

I know that sounds highly anti-social, but seriously, my friends have been my friends for so long, I can’t remember a time when I didn’t know them. We’ve grown together and kind of changed and developed in tandem.

I think that’s probably why the whole ‘early marriage’ thing is encouraged in Islam. If it makes such a huge difference in friendship, how much more would it affect a serious relationship? If you marry someone while you’re both still growing then you kind of feed off each other’s changes and mature together almost as one unit with different perspectives.

But if you’ve already defined yourself and so has your spouse then it’s a different kind of relationship – more of a ‘discover and decided to accept/reject’ thing. Which is perhaps as volatile as it is interesting.

I guess there are pros and cons to every situation and in cases such as these, you only get to try out one style. 🙂

But I’m rambling and that’s something I need to work on avoiding. Have to try and bring myself into the present and just be. Wonder if I’ll finally manage to see auras if I do. How cool would that be?

S’laams,
Bint Ali

Current Read: 
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Current Saying: 
A child, like your stomach, doesn’t need all you can afford to give it.
-Frank A. Clark, writer (1911- )

2 thoughts on “Catching up. Just

  1. Re: its eternal …

    True. God handles things in ways we don’t necessarily understand or even dream of.

    Life is meant to be lived regardless of whether it turns out as we thought it would or not.

    I intend to keep writing as long as He lets me 😀

    S’laams
    BA

  2. its eternal …

    hi there..

    i felt i must leave a comment in response.
    its true that you learn as you grow and that every relationship/ situation has pros & cons.

    My spouse and I are one of the more ‘late’ marriage couples and as much as i agree with the earlier marriage and better blending option, the beauty of marriage and the baraka of nikaah is eternal too !

    The fears are there but with HIS mercy, you still grow together and learn to blend and accept more then reject.
    I do believe that its all in the mind… and the effort both want to put into it.

    Take care and keep writing 🙂

Tell me what *you* think!

