Struggling To Surrender

Exams next week and then it’s the end of the second semester. It’s more than weird how fast the last three months have passed.

And yet, it it wasn’t for the tangible proof I have of time having moved forward (new skills, finished projects, new friends…), I would be tempted to believe that I am exactly where I was on that last afternoon of the first semester. I can remember that particular day with an eerie clarity and then everything else in between is a hazy blur.

It’s like a full circle, I’m back to the same hopes, the same disappointments, the same inner state of being torn between deliruim and exhaustion. It’s also a little like having been given a second chance and then gone ahead and repeated the very same mistakes all over again.

I guess it settles one thing: I’m a slow learner. (LOL) I should be glad my Teacher has Infinite Patience.

S’laams
Bint Ali

Current Saying:

Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. 
Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. 
Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… 
Anything can happen, child. Anything can be. 

– Shel Silverstein 
(American poet, cartoonist and composer best known in children’s literature for his poetry, 1930-1999)

2 thoughts on “Struggling To Surrender

  1. Thanks!

    Thank you, O Anonymous Well-wisher! 🙂 Always nice to know someone’s rooting for you while you’re freaking out…

    S’laams
    Bint Ali

Tell me what *you* think!

