A Whisper in My Ear

I heard something today.  It was a voice that whispered under the voices that spoke around me, and yet was louder than any of them.  I heard it, but I don’t know what it said.  I was too busy doing the things I thought I was supposed to be doing.

It was musical, but not music; gentle, but not soft; painful without being cruel; insistent yet not irritating; familiar in a strange way.  In my imagination, it was the sound of a soul speaking.

But whose?  And why?  And what was it saying? Did anyone else hear it?

I wish I’d stopped (perhaps if I had been less afraid) and paused just long enough to listen.  Then maybe, just maybe, my soul might have spoken back.

S’laams,
Bint Ali

Current Saying:

“I think I’m falling…will you pick me up?”  -Anon

Tell me what *you* think!

