Lessons Learnt

Yup, it’s still today. I should blog while I’m the mood. Soon enough I’ll be too busy to even log in, let alone post anything.

I went for a seminar/workshop today. It was supposed to be about animation, but it was more of the video editing and special effects part of it, which in a way was good because it’s the one area I had absolutely no clue about.

So far, I’ve been telling everyone who’ll listen that getting the ideas for animations and then going through the process of actually putting those ideas down and making them to do the moving is no walk in the park. Now, I’m wondering how I’ll ever explain all the rest of the effort that goes into it.

You know the saying ‘Genius is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration’? That pretty much sums it up. The creative spark sets an idea alight, but making a blazing furnace out of it takes a lot of sweat and hard labour (which according to Alex Lindsay is “what interns are there for”! :D) Go check out Pixel Corps for the kind of stuff he was talking about, although you won’t see the behind the scenes things we did, which were pretty amazing.

One thing I’m realizing is that I’m kinda soaking up information right now. I didn’t get all jazzed up about the workshop (possibly in part because of my scratchy throat and stuffed nose), but that didn’t stop me from appreciating what he was saying. So much of it was common sense applied in technology.

A friend told me long, long ago, common sense isn’t so common to everyone 😦 I don’t normally like to think that way about people, but I saw a real-life example today as you’ll see further below.

However, to finish what I started off with: people out there are doing some totally cool stuff, and some day I hope I’ll be doing something like that of my own.

Despite all the advice to the contrary, I think sometimes it’s better to allow yourself to have a selective blind spot as far as the future is concerned. Sure, you want to do A, B and C in your lifetime or before you retire, but concentrating on that can be distracting and encourage procrastination. It’s healthier to ask yourself what you can do right now and what’s stopping you from doing that.

Moving on, over the tea break (which by the way was sans tea), I met a lovely gentleman who’s working in the local film industry right now. He was one of those people whom you instantly take a liking to because you can see intelligence in the way he speaks and holds himself. I discovered he lives in the same area I do. (It’s amazing how many ‘neighbours’ I’ve been bumping into since last year)

He was telling me how he’s been following his dream and how his true calling is hidden somewhere in motion graphics, but is still eluding him (I’m paraphrasing here, but I’m pretty sure that’s what he meant because it’s kind of what I’m going through.) He’s achieved a lot though – the movie he worked on has just been released and will be showing at an upcoming film festival.

The thing I liked most was his attitude towards his work. The fact that he was willing to keep trying new things, learning stuff from scratch and just experiment with different approaches. So many of us stick to just one thing in life and never allow ourselves to explore our various talents. We can’t all be good at just one thing, can we? What of the latent, hidden abilities that we ignore due to circumstances, finance, opportunity or just because we think we have to make one choice and one choice alone.

And life, in its attempt to balance the wave, had to then throw the complete opposite of this man in my path almost simultaneously. I don’t even want to explain too much of it – it’ll just spoil my mood – but let’s say that I met a man who proved to me that age is not always an indication of either dignity or wisdom.

This guy had the gall to say the crudest thing I’ve ever heard anyone utter, and he said it to me (to ME!) in front of everyone (everyone!) within hearing distance and he had the loudest boom of a voice. And I don’t think I was imagining it. I could have punched his teeth out.

Well actually, at that point in time I was a little too occupied with trying to register the fact that he had said what he said to do anything, and in hindsight I think I’m still in shock. I can’t believe what I heard, but I obviously did hear it. What’s annoying me is that I can’t seem to get past the disbelief into the anger, ‘coz I sure as hell want to punch his teeth out. And possibly use his tongue to give him a newfangled necktie.

(GRRRR!!!… bah, it’s not coming out right yet. But soon. I have his business card you see, so I know where to find him when I need to.)

S’laams,
Bint Ali

Current Saying: 

We say we waste time, but that is impossible.  We waste ourselves. – Alice Bloch.

2 thoughts on “Lessons Learnt

  1. Re: Age=Wisdom ???

    Experience? 😦 If only we didn’t need that kind. I’m still reeling.

    Had to write it in my journal, because my mind was rebelling from believing that I had heard it and i was afraid I’d unconciously forget it (and thus, forget to ‘avenge’ my self.)

    Sadly, unless God puts him infront of me again (which I seriously hope He doesn’t) I don’t think I will be using that card – except as a substitute to vent at.

    Such is life. *sigh*

    S’laams
    Bint Ali

  2. Age=Wisdom ???

    Salaams Bint Ali

    I can almost picture you (mouth open wide ) saying ..ME ??You said that to me ? pole sana but like you say,Age is not always indication of wisdom contrary to all the pomes and rhymes we used to read on ‘The Wise Old Man ‘.

    But hey, chalk it down to experience and the WONDERFUL exposure you are getting , AND… Do keep us updated on the next line of action when you USE his business card, LOL 😀

    I don’t post much but I love reading your ramblings – so thank you !
    I can’t do what you are doing nor can I be where you are but I feel I can live it through you as I read. And the best part for me is that I get to learn the lessons you have learnt!( and polish up my vocabulary too 😛 )

    Until the next post….take care!!

    snr ali

Tell me what *you* think!

