Lost Life

The third week of college comes to an end and I can’t account for much of it except in terms of courses and homework. It’s like one hectic cycle of learning, but without much chance to implement what I’m gaining in the way I had intended. I’m lucky that things have been a little slow on the editing, teaching and magazine work front. But once that gets back on track, I don’t even want to think of how I’ll handle it.

I’m just trusting in Allah (SWT) and hoping it all settles.

It’s weird being in college after so long. You tend ot get disconnected from the close warmth and safety of community and home. I’ve always believed that the greatest jihad is simply going out there and trying to stay true to Islam in the midst of all that non-Islamic stuff. I should be grateful that this place is not as bad as the last one – there’s something to be said about being around Ahle Kitaab as opposed to being around polytheists. The influence of monotheism is definitiely measurable.

The only thing I find unique to myself and S (can you imagine have a member of the family in class with you? 🙂 ) is that we’re not obsessed with the course. The other students – and even the tutors – literally live for their work, whereas for us it’s a means to an end. It changes the perspective totally in that we’re dedicated to the cause and should a choice come along, it’s easy to put the coursework on a backburner. For the others, it’s the course that they’re dedicated to and that’s what their life is all about.

I can’t help feeling sorry for them sometimes.

***

My posts will be shorter and more spread out for the next few months, but I’ll try and share a little of what goes on in the life of a back-to-school adventurer! 🙂

S’laams,
Bint Ali

Tell me what *you* think!

