Who’s A Happy Author, Then?

WOHOOOOO!!!!! I got my contract in the mail at last! *dances a jig* (which by the way in just an expression. I don’t dance. And using that phrase doesn’t make me less Muslim…but that’s for another day, another post.)

It’s a word document, it’s 10 pages long, it’s got all kinds of legal terminology, it refers to me as “hereinafter referred to as ‘Author‘ ” (eeeeek!) AND it has a place for me to sign!  Only thing is that I now have to get an expert to read it and see if it works for me as well as them.

I never imagined I’d actually be sitting back and allowing myself to think before doing something like this. A few years ago, I would have considered waiting until tomorrow to sign it and send it back as a MAJOR test of patience. I must have learnt something from all those writing courses, eh? 🙂

And not just in writing. I seem to be doing a lot of ‘wait for the initial reaction to pass, then think about it all reasonably’ in all areas of my life and guess what? It seriously makes a difference. Everything seems to kind of slow down. Not in a dragging, boring kind of way, but rather in a more scenic stroll-y kind of way. You think, you explore and you actually learn something about yourself. Plus it seems to stabilise life so that you feel more in control.

If you’ve ever exercised or done yoga and can remember those first sessions, then I can tell you that it’s a bit like when you get over the initial jelly-shakes and muscle-trembles and begin to feel the ability to control your body. Everything becomes more fluid.

Well, am off to ogle some more at the wonderful, lovely, official contract and hunt for a lawyer when I can tear myself away from it. Who knew I’d need a lawyer one day! Trust me, when you live where I do, lawyers are for Americans.

On the happiest note of all, Mabrook and Congratulations to all on the birth of the Fatimah, daughter of the Holy Prophet (pbuh)! 😀 I can only hope and pray that one day, all women can truly be like her. It’d be amazing what we would achieve then.

S’laams, 
Bint Ali

Current Saying:
“A word is not the same with one writer as with another. One tears it from his guts. The other pulls it out of his overcoat pocket.”

Charles Peguy, poet and essayist (1873-1914)

Tell me what *you* think!

