Disconnected…

One of the ‘perks’ of living in this country is the unpredictable nature of the internet connectivity. Why call it a perk? Well, it works pretty well on weaning you off dependency on technology.

The first time we lost the connection after getting onto a wireless one, I almost went crazy with frustration. It took a few times of this to realise that not only did getting angry not provide me with the digital energy to send my mails or surf the net, but really at the end of the day almost anything can keep longer than we think it can.

Mails can be answered a few days later, issues can be resolved (sometimes even better) when you’ve had a few hours to think and when you do manage to tear yourself away from cyberspace, you discover that there’s actually a lot of stuff in the world that you’re missing when you limit your vision to the dimensions of the LCD in front of you.

I know that we have problems more often than other countries do, so now I simply tag a note with most of my first mails to strangers, cautioning them that if my response takes longer than usual, chances are I don’t have access to the net. So far, nothing earth-shattering has been precipitated by the frequent breakdowns. And should a really urgent situation arise, there’s always the phone!

On the writing front, I just finished the next issue of the magazine and so have about a fortnight or so of freedom to do my own work. At least I’m hoping I do. If we really are going for that year-delayed holiday in August then I’ll need to have 3 issues designed in advance! Which means either working solidly on that in the last weeks or working to get myself organised so I can fit in the magazine into my daily schedule. Maybe this will finally teach me to get my act together.

I’m working on that critique at last and it’s due by the end of this week. I just hope I don’t make a hash of it. I really want Muslim writers out there, but I also firmly believe they should be producing the highest quality work, especially because from an Islamic point of view the reader MUST get what they’re paying for.

My second manuscript has been shelved for now 😦 but I think I’m now in a position to share with people the challenges of writing from a Muslim perspective. The whole take on clichés, metaphors and imagery changes when you have Muslim characters and an Islamic perspective.

The greatest challenge is how to make the story familiar to Muslims and non-Muslims without boring the former and preaching to the second. And it’s a hell of a lot of fun!

My assignment is STILL half done. That just has to go this week too. At this rate, I’ll never finish this course or even reach the bit I need to – the fiction modules!

S’laams
Bint Ali

Current Saying:
”Count no day lost in which you waited your turn, took only your share and sought advantage over no one.” -Robert Brault

Tell me what *you* think!

