Made it…

I made it. I’m not at liberty to specify what ‘it’ is, but suffice to say that what once would have been the longest period of time in my life, was just another week. Okay, who am I kidding – it WASN’T just another week, but I didn’t lose control, I didn’t mull, I didn’t obsess and I actually was quite constructive.

Apart from the skit – which I am now planning to do after Fajr tomorrow – I managed to get a proper working draft of the synopsis assignment done, designed a logo, wrote up a circular, organised a rehearsal, caught up on most of my mail and basically did stuff I had been putting off for a long time. I guess a girl needs some stress in her life to get her moving!

Despite all this, I’m not too sure I’m happy with how things have gone. Sure I solved the problem in one way, but was it the right way? That one I’m still working out. For now it feels like a tie between handling the issue and distracting myself from it so much that I didn’t have to handle it. I don’t like the latter, even if it is a vast improvement on being out of control.

I’m currently beginning my second read through this fantastic book that I found on my shelf (in the lot of books I got from my cousin). It’s called When You Hear Hoofbeats Think of a Zebra by Shems Friedlander. The book is a series of talks on Sufism – but far from being unrealistic or confusingly poetic, it’s a fresh, fast and upbeat look at how to involve Allah (SWT) in every aspect of your life.

Shems asks a lot of questions that strike deep at the soul, and I love how he chides the reader in such a gentle, loving way. I would recommend this book to anyone who believes in God – regardless of their faith.

In his first ‘talk’, he addresses the title of the book. When we hear hoofbeats, chances are we think of a horse. Rarely would we think “That’s a zebra approaching.” Life makes us like that – conditioned to a set of standard responses. We forget to look for and discover the beautiful mysteries Allah (SWT) has hidden in every one of His creations and the great lessons He keeps for us in every second of our existence. Nothing He creates is in vain so how can we imagine that even one second of our life is meaningless? Can we not instead think that very moment is a new opportunity to grow closer to Him?

We must begin to think outside of the usual responses, to seek out new experiences, to ponder and begin once again to wonder. Perhaps that is a zebra’s hoofbeats you hear, after all.

S’laams
Bint Ali 

Current Quote:
“This body we live in is a kingdom and a grave. It is a kingdom where our heart resides. It is the grave of our soul.” – Shems Friedlander.

2 thoughts on “Made it…

  1. Re: Seeing Things in a Different Way

    Alaykum Salaam, sis Safiyyah

    Thanks for dropping by!

    I haven’t read Who Moved My Cheese, but my own take on the rose-coloured glasses (which can be negative naivete) is the ultra-positive God-coloured lenses! 🙂

    If everything you see and experience inspires you to remember Allah (SWT), can you imagine how beautiful life would be?

    S’laams
    Bint Ali

  2. Seeing Things in a Different Way

    As Salaamu Alaikum Sis: Nice blog! The post reminds me of the phrases “seeing the world through rose colored glasses” and “when life hands you lemons, make lemonade”! Have you ever read “Who Moved My Cheese”? People don’t like change, you know?!
    Fi Aman Allah
    Safiyyah

Tell me what *you* think!

